Running Shorts

MCRRC Outstanding High School Runner recipients and their coaches: Nandini Satsangi, Presad Gerard, Margaret Lilyestrom, Seann Pelkey, Aidan Smyth, Emily Young, Leoluca Cannuscio, Angelique Bosse. Photo courtesy of Marty Horan

Here’s a selection of superlatives awarded by local running clubs.

Montgomery County Road Runners Club

  • Lifetime Achievement Award – Jim Whitnah
  • Presidents’ Award(s) – Travisha Gunter, Catherine Poole, Danny Talmage & Conroy Zien
  • Coach(es) of the Year – Keith & Laura Evans
  • Journalism Award – Melissa Hutchinson
  • Humanitarian Award – Dayna Rashidian & Keri Jacobs (22 Too Many)
  • Race Director of the Year – Karen Kincer
  • Volunteer of the Year – Bill Lee (posthumous)
  • Youth Volunteer of the Year – Mary Kincer
  • Most Improved Runners – Maria Margarita Garcia Ripa & Adam Kiely
  • Outstanding Running Achievement – Constance Roberts
  • Outstanding High School Runners – Nandini Satsangi (Poolesville), Margaret Lilyestrom (Quince Orchard), Aidan Smyth (Bethesda-Chevy Chase), Leoluca Cannuscio (Montgomery Blair)
  • Runners of the Year – Stuart Gordon, Audrey Fincher, Tom DiChiara, Julie Sapper, Chris Sloane & Silvia Baage
  • Runner of the Year Recognition – Kirk Gordon, Koji Takeuchi, Catherine Baker, Yuji Funakoshi, Jim Dahlem, Kaari Liisi Linask, Courtney Perna, Shlomo Fishman, Adrian Spencer & Monika Schneider
  • Volunteer Service Awards – Dan DiFonzo, Barry Hauptman, Wendy Young

D.C. Road Runners

  • Justine Peet Outstanding Volunteer Award – Eunja Rau
  • Outstanding Coach – Edward Grant
  • Outstanding Female Runner – Anna Suhring
  • Outstanding Female Master – Christine Westcott
  • Most Improved Female – Liz Kakouris Ozeki
  • Outstanding Male Runner – Bobby Beasley
  • Outstanding Male Master – Paul Ryan
  • Most Improved Male – Miguel Matta

Capital Area Runners

  • Men’s Open: Greg Mariano
  • Women’s Open: Jillian Pollack
  • Men’s Master: Philippe Rolly
  • Women’s Master: Lindsay Wilkins

Georgetown Running Club

  • Men’s MVP – Paul Thistle
  • Women’s MVP – Maura Linde
  • Men’s Newcomer – Sam Doud
  • Women’s Newcomer – Molly Applegate
  • Nina Brekelmans Award – Luke Meyer
  • Lauren Woodall Roady Award – Kerry Allen

Northern Virginia Running Club

  • Men’s MVP – Evan Fallor
  • Women’s MVP – Dawn Gillis
  • Coach’s Award – Ann Pohlers
  • Rookie of the Year – Frank Rocha


Recent Stories

Running Shorts

Divided lanes coming to Hains Point, safety measures in the works for the Mount Vernon Trail, three locals make national high school XC meet, local collegians race at NCAAs.

St. Albans and GVS’s Vivian Kelly won their first DC cross country titles while St. Johns’ girls and St. Albans’ Pierre Attiogbe repeated.

Running Shorts

Beach Drive remains closed to through traffic year-round, locals win conference, USATF titles.

Capt. Kyle King won the Marine Corps Marathon, a year after he planned to make his debut at the race, and Chelsea Baker of the British Royal Navy made tremendous strides winning the women’s race.

A Salute to Our Troops

Celebrate Memorial Day! Honor our past and present military heroes and first responders by running in the annual RINGING IN HOPE: A SALUTE TO OUR TROOPS! Join your friends and neighbors on May 29, 2023, at

Try Or Fail Spring Forward 10K, 5K, 1 Mile

Come join us for the second annual Try Or Fail Spring Forward races! The 1-mile course will be run on the Workhouse Arts Center property starting and ending at the baseball fields going out and back. The 5K and the


Subscribe to our mailing list